Ahoy! Baking: Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Dark Chocolate Ganache

2

August 28, 2009 by skwishface

Is there anything better than the peanut-butter-chocolate combination? No. No there is not. I will hear no argument on this.

In my quest to both conquer my fear of baking from scratch and also use up the bajillion eggs loitering around in my fridge like teenage hoodlums itching for a rumble a la the Jets and the Sharks (although come to think of it, didn’t it always seem like the Jets were the lazy bums loitering around and the Sharks actually had jobs or at least were busy with things in addition to hoodlumery? I’m sure there’s some commentary to be found there about the societal ethics of immigrants versus American teens, but I think the discussion would only devolve into dance-fighting) I went trolling around on Tasty Kitchen and found two separate recipes that were destined to come together.

Peanut Butter Cupcake Goodness by tastymcyumyum
Chocolate Ganache by savorysweetlife

Ahoy! I bake now. I’m a baker!

As we go along, you may be comparing my pictures to the actual proportions listed in the recipe and wondering why they don’t quite match. Well, I had a troop of The Husband’s friends coming over to play, and about half a dozen of them are home-cooking-neglected Air Force and Army boys, so I decided to half-again the recipe so as to be certain that everyone would get some. I ended up with every surface in my kitchen covered with little peanut-butter baked delights. Which is not necessarily a bad thing.

Let’s get this party started, eh? Butter. Real butter. Yeah, I went there.

cupcake2

I melted it down in a saucepan and felt supremely decadent doing so. I think I may have been purring. Then I added the star of the show:

cupcake3

This combination made a creamy, warm substance that I was desperately tempted to just eat with a spoon. I resisted (somehow), and forgot to take a picture before adding the water and oil. Predictably, the mixture was very reluctant to, ya know, mix. Water and oil, they have a history. There was alot of stirring involved here.

cupcake4

The contents of the pot got really gritty and soupy and strange. I made alot of faces while stirring constantly. The aroma, though? Heavenly.

Once it was all as incorporated as it was going to get, I dumped it into a bowl and added flour, sugar, baking soda, milk, vanilla, and eggs. How much? I don’t recall. Check the recipe link. Tastymcyumyum is way smarter than me about that stuff, and has a cool name. I should really ask if Tastymcyumyum wants to join my gang. There would only be two of us, but we’d be Tastymcyumyum and Skwishface. If that’s not gangsta, I don’t know what is.

Anyway, back to baking. All ingredients in a bowl.

cupcake6

At this point, I got distracted by the bizarre alien landscape I had created. I then proceeded to take way too many pictures of it.

cupcake10

cupcake8

Ah, the serene martian desert. Basking in the glow of the rising triple sun. Little do the local fauna know that WHIRRING BLADES OF DEATH will soon DESCEND from the SKY! *cue music*

cupcake9

Buahahaha! *ahem* Moving on. Hey, if nothing else, this recipe is fun.

Knowing that I had a whole bunch of cupcakes to make, I bought another muffin pan to accompany the lonely little muffin soldier I’ve been working with. Tossed cupcake wrappers in each cup and filled them about 2/3 full.

cupcake11

17 minutes at 400 degrees later ….

cupcake12

If you lean really close to your monitor and scratch that picture, you’ll smell the amazing scents wafting around my kitchen at that moment.

These cupcakes are delicious on their own, and Tastymcyumyum provides a recipe for peanut butter frosting. But I’d spotted Savorysweetlife’s ganache recipe and had to try it. Had to. It was a moral imperative.

Did you know that ganache is really easy to make? It’s that creamy chocolatey stuff you find inside truffles or glazed on top of really expensive ice cream cakes. And it has TWO. INGREDIENTS.

ganache1

I broke up the chocolate into pieces. The anal-retentive side of me forced me to break them up only along the already established lines, so that each piece displayed the logo. Savorysweetlife said to chop it up fine, but … but … the pieces! The logo! I just … couldn’t.

ganache2

It started getting late in the day, so the lighting got all moody. Undaunted, I heated up the heavy cream in a pot until it bubbled, and poured it over the chocolate.

ganache3

Stirring this together was a little worrisome. It started out looking pretty not-ganachey.

ganache4

But a few minutes later, it got all glossy and wonderful looking.

ganache5

I was supposed to let this cool. But the light was fading and it smelled a-MAZING and I’ve never been patient about these sorts of things and I wasn’t about to start at a silly time like now

ganache6

Well hello, lover.

I did end up putting the ganache in the freezer to set up, then frosted the cupcakes and let them sit in the fridge for a bit. I had to hide a few from the visiting horde of military boys, with whom these treats were a huge hit.

Breakfast the next morning was a rich and peanut-buttery affair:

ganache7

The dark chocolate was a perfect counterpoint to the sweetness of the cupcakes. Thanks tastymcyumyum and savorysweetlife! Your recipes are fan-flippin’-tastic!

2 thoughts on “Ahoy! Baking: Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Dark Chocolate Ganache

  1. tastymcyumyum says:

    Wow, I feel so honored to have you blog about my recipe! That chocolate topping looks fantastic on them! My hubby’s always bugging me to put chocolate in them, so next time I’ll try it.
    I’m liking the gang idea…can we eat cupcakes for initiation?? 😉

  2. Sa says:

    oh… just…oh. must try these. I was salivating before i even got to the pictures.

Leave a Reply

Archives!

Pigeonholes

