My New Favorite Kitchen Thingy

1

September 18, 2009 by skwishface

So I’ve been questing lately for a cooling rack. Something I can use to lay out baked goodies to cool, and also to cook bacon-wrapped bits of yum in the oven. I didn’t have a rack of my own, so I had to borrow racks from my very nice mother-in-law. Or just spread the baked goods all over my very limited counterspace and get huffy about it. More on this later.

Central Texas has suffered and long and painful drought. Until about a week ago, when it rained for five days straight. It was magnificent. It had me feeling mellow and content. But it kept The Girl up at night. So I was also feeling strung-out and sleep-deprived. And what’s the best way to cope with such a state of being?

Cupcakes. Lots and lots of cupcakes.

So I whipped up some Swiss Army Cake, and cupcaked it.

That's right. "Cupcake" is a verb now.

That's right. "Cupcake" is a verb now.

I cannot begin to convey how much I love this super simple cake recipe. The result is sweet and vanilla-y and fluffy.

It also yields a small army of cupcakes. Normally, I would have to relocate my counter-dwelling kitchen things into the dining room just to have enough counter space to cool so many baked delights. But The Husband has an eagle eye and spotted this at the Wal-Mart:

*angels singing*

*angels singing*

That is a three-tier cooling rack. The tiers come apart. They stack up. Their little legs fold and unfold. I’m able to cool almost 50 cupcakes in the space taken up by one cookie sheet.

When nobody was looking, I hugged this thing.

Then I whipped up some of the Pioneer Woman’s sticky chocolate icing.

Rainy day = moody lighting. That's chocolate in condensed milk, plus butter.

Rainy day = moody lighting. That's chocolate in condensed milk, plus butter.

I sliced up some strawberries and sprinkled them with sugar. Did you know that if you do this, and then walk away for about fifteen minutes, you’ll come back to sweet, syrupy, bloodred berries?

It's true.

It's true.

Then I brought these three delicious items together in a delightful trinity. To celebrate my new three-tiered lover.

Do not doubt the yum.

Do not doubt the yum.

Y’all go on out and buy yourselves one of these three-tiered racks. Quick, before I go back and buy them all.

One thought on “My New Favorite Kitchen Thingy

  1. […] to obtain for myself. Orange peelers, big plastic meat-claw thingies, the best thing ever, the other best thing ever, and […]

Leave a Reply

Archives!

Pigeonholes

