Happy Holidays: Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies (aka – “Puglies”)

2

December 16, 2009 by skwishface

I did not invent this recipe. I’m not that awesome. This recipe belongs to Shemmeter over at Tasty Kitchen, and you can check out such trivial details as the ingredient measurements HERE.

These cookies are duh-lish-us. So stinkin’ good. No lie. All the flavor of pumpkin pie in a cakey, ugly little cookie, with the occasional golden nugget of butterscotchy goodness. You can even justify eating entirely too many of them by telling yourself that pumkin is technically a VEGETABLE. Let’s get to it, shall we?

Off camera: vanilla extract, cinnamon, and salt. SIGH.

 Here’s my thing with baking from scratch: sometimes, there’s aLOT of ingredients. No one item in large quantities, mind you, just itty bitty piles of a thousand things. I often lose track. Which is why the combination of the Tasty Kitchen website and my tiny laptop makes my cooking possible. I just load up the recipe page on the laptop, perch the little darling up on a conveniently visible shelf out harm’s way, and cook like crazy.

Mind you, Shemmet’s recipe calls for just cinnamon as far as spices go. But once I add cinnamon to something, I feel compelled to add nutmeg. And whither goest nutmeg, so too shall go ginger. And I don’t want cloves to feel left out. I get a little spice-happy during the holidays. Don’t hate. Appreciate.

And now, the star of the show!

Baby food!

One whole can of unsweetned pumpkin puree. And WOW is it orange! I really shouldn’t have been as surprised by this as I was.

The pumpkin went into the big shiny metal bowl of my stand mixer, along with a happy frenzied flurry of other ingredients. Check out the link up above to find out what, because I honestly couldn’t tell you for sure at this point. At the time, I was just so pleased (as I am every time) to be able to just dump it all in and hit a button. Minutes later, presto! Cookie dough!

To which I added butterscotch chips.

A few chips cling desperately to the paddle, begging for their lives. THE FOOLS!

Once all the chips are mixed in, all you gotta do is scoop out spoonfuls of batter onto a cookie sheet.

Or if you're classy like me, a pair of pizza pans lined with parchment paper.

Have you tried baking with parchment paper? It’s aces, seriously. Sounds hoity-toity and antiquey, like you’re baking on the Magna Carta or something, but really it’s cheap and makes cleanup a non-issue. Like some kind of paper voodoo, baked goods simply do not stick to parchment paper.

I simply do not have the words for how good my kitchen smells right now.

So you bake, you slide the cookies off, you add more dough, you bake again. When all the dough is baked, you just crumple up the paper and toss it.  IT’S JUST THAT EASY!

Ahem. Sorry. Channeling the Shamwow Guy for a second, there.

Depending on the size of your spoonfuls, this recipe can yield a small army of cookies. So you’ll have a couple dozen fluffy, cakey, pumpkiny, butterscotchy treats on your hands.

What EVER shall you do?

If loving these cookies is wrong, I don’t wanna be right.

2 thoughts on “Happy Holidays: Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies (aka – “Puglies”)

  1. Eva says:

    You’re a funny girl. I’m not going to try this recipe because I just don’t care for butterscotch, but I enjoyed reading about it just the same.

  2. […] In Food/Recipes on January 4, 2010 at 12:28 pm It’s the New Year, and I have much to atone for. […]

Leave a Reply

Archives!

Pigeonholes

